Moments of Honour

9th November 2016, 8:30 a.m. Historic occasion of first ever Test match was to begin… before that memorable moments created. On arrival of Hon’ble Chief Minister of Gujarat Shri Vijaybhai Rupani, Hon’ble Cabinet Minister of Gujarat Shri Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, Shri Anurag Singh Thakur, President – BCCI and Shri Ajay Shirke, Hony Secretary – BCCI, moments of honour created.

It was not only an auspicious occasion but also a moment of hysrory creation for Saurashtra cricket association and all the cricket loving  people of this region,when the first Test Match between India and England began here in SCA stadium, Rajkot.

How can we forget the heros of Saurashtra of yester years and that of today who made us proud by playing for India? SCA took this opportunity to honour these players and appreciate their contribution towards the game by presenting them with the momento of this historic event. Their presence through out the game is also a matter of an emotional home coming for them as well as for all of us.

Salim Durani, Dilip Doshi, Yajuvendra Singh, Karsan Ghavri, Dhiraj Parsana , Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja and Jaydev Unadkat, all these former and present India players were honoured by the Hon’ble Chief Minster Shri Vijay Rupani, in presence of Shri Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, Hon’ble Cabinet Minister, Government of Gujarat, Shri Anurag Singh Thakur, President – BCCI, Shri Ajay Shirke, Hony Secretary – BCCI, Dr. Lal Rathod, President – SCA and Shri Niranjan Shah, Hony Secretary – SCA just before the game started.

SCA also went on to honour and welcome both the boards ECB and BCCI by presenting mementos to the Manager of ECB and Anil Kumble Head Coach of team India.

Stuart Broad who played his 100th Test match here in Rajkot was also honoured for his fantastic achievement. Captains of both teams, Alistair Cook and Virat Kohli were honoured.  

Jaydev Shah ( present and the successful Saurashtra Ranji  trophy team captain) and Sitanshu Kotak ( former Saurashtra Ranji Trophy Player and present Head Coach of team Saurashtra) both were honoured for their outstanding  feat of playing more than 100 first class matches for Saurashtra.

These were the moments of honour, moments of recognition.