12th  February 2023

Ranji Trophy 2022-23

Semi Final

Karnataka vs Saurashtra

Day Five


Ranji Trophy 2022-23 Semi Final between Karnataka vs Saurashtra played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.


Karnataka continued their second innings on overnight score of 123 for 4 having S J Nikin Jose not out on 54. Karnataka in their second innings scored 234 runs all out in 58.2 overs. S J Nikin Jose scored 109 runs in 161 balls with 9 fours. Gowtham K scored 23 runs. V Vyashak scored 20. Chetan Sakariya took 4 wickets in the innings in 11 overs giving 45 runs. Chetan took 7 wickets in the match. Dharmendrasinh Jadeja took 4 wickets in 23.2 overs with 2 maidens giving 79 runs. Parth Bhut took 2 wickets in 16 overs giving 57 runs.


Saurashtra in their second innings scored 117 runs for loss of 6 wickets in 34.2 overs. Arpit Vasavada scored 47 runs not out in 51 balls with 7 fours. Chetan Sakariya scored 24 runs in 48 balls with 3 sixes. Vishvarajsinh Jadeja scored 17. Gowtham K took 3 wickets in 15 overs with 3  maidens giving 38  runs. Koushik V took 3 wickets in 10.2 overs with 1 maiden giving 32 runs.


Saurashtra won Semi Final Match of Ranji Trophy 2022-23 against Karnataka by 4 wickets and entered final of Ranji Trophy 2022-23


Skipper Arpit Vasavada was declared Player of the Match for his double Ton in first innings and 47 runs not out in second.


This is fifth time, Team Saurashtra enters Final of Ranji Trophy. Saurashtra had become Champions of Ranji Trophy 2019-20 beating Bengal. Saurashtra had become Runners up in Ranji Trophy 2012-13, 2015-16 and 2018-19.


Mr. Niranjan Shah, former Hon. Secretary of BCCI expressed, “I cordially and profoundly congratulate Team Saurashtra for entering final of prestigious Ranji Trophy. Our dream had come true when we won the Trophy in the Season 2019-20. Talented players of the Association keep shining in national and international games of Cricket. The Region keeps producing exceptional talents.”


Mr. Jaydev Shah, President of Saurashtra Cricket Association expressed, “It is so very heartening that talented team Saurashtra has reached final of august Ranji Trophy. What a nail-biting Semi-final it was. Both teams played exceptionally well. I heartily congratulate skipper Arpit Vasavada for his match winning performance, and also Sheldon Jackson, Chetan Sakariya, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Chirag Jani for their remarkable performances. The team has performed exceptionally well throughout the Season. The team has become Champions of prestigious Vijay Hazare Trophy in this season. Also, Team Saurashtra became champions of BCCI’s Under 25 State A Tournament in this season. Practically all teams of Saurashtra in this season have reached knock-out stages.”


Saurashtra shall play Final of Mastercard Ranji Trophy 2022-23 against Bengal in Kolkata starting from 16th February 2023.